“Department of Homeland Security”

Jurisdiction: United States United States

Department of the executive branch of the U.S. government charged with homeland security. This includes:

  • Preventing terrorism and managing risks to critical infrastructure;
  • Securing and managing the border;
  • Enforcing and administering immigration laws;
  • Safeguarding and securing cyberspace; and
  • Ensuring resilience to disasters.
Source: USCIS Glossary, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services