“Geographic area of chargeability”

Jurisdiction: United States United States

This refers to the five regions that the world is divided into—Africa, East Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean, Near East and South Asia, and the former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe—for the initial admission of refugees to the United States.

Source: USCIS Glossary, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services