Jurisdiction: Canada Canada

The Constitution Act, 1867, states that Canada's Parliament is composed of the Queen, the Senate and the House of Commons. The Act gives Parliament the power to make laws for Canada in certain areas of responsibility.

Source: Glossary of Parliamentary Terms for Intermediate Students, Parliament of Canada