Jurisdiction: Canada Canada

The Upper House of Parliament, composed of 105 Senators. They examine and revise legislation, investigate national issues and represent regional, provincial and minority interests. The Senate also introduces its own bills, subject to certain constitutional limitations. Senate committees are frequently struck to examine specific social and economic issues in detail. > See House of Commons.

Source: Glossary of Parliamentary Terms for Intermediate Students, Parliament of Canada