“Waitangi Tribunal”

Jurisdiction: New Zealand New Zealand

Established in 1975 by the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975. The tribunal is a permanent commission of inquiry charged with making recommendations on claims brought by Māori relating to actions or omissions of the Crown that potentially breach the promises made in the Treaty of Waitangi.

Source: Glossary of Legal Terms, New Zealand Ministry of Justice